How to Live Well with Chronic Pain and Illness by Toni Bernhard

joy murray -- books*art*life

Earlier this year I served for a month on a grand jury.  A grand jury hears cases presented by city prosecutors to see if there’s really enough evidence to go forward with prosecution.  I heard close to 100 cases in 30 days.  Most of them were traffic violations, but we got some pretty hard violent crime cases, too.  And even the traffic violations were associated with addictions.

How to Wake UpOne of the hardest things about serving on a jury is the mandate to not talk about the cases to anyone.  Because I keep a journal and make art, I had a way of processing the sadness I felt over the human condition.  At the time, I was reading Toni Bernhard’s book How to Wake Up: A Buddhist-Inspired Guide to Navigating Joy and Sorrow.  After reading a particularly insightful passage, I made this entry into my journal, adding other bits of…

View original post 1,226 more words

Leave a Reply

